National Girl Child Day 2020

National Girl Child Day

On January 24th, 2020 a Panel Discussion was conducted in Agnel School of Law celebrating National Girl Child Day. The Panelist included Mr Anson Thomas (Social Activist), Corporator Netra Shirke, Adv. Krishna Thacker, Adv. Aditya Mokashi, PSI Sopan Patil and PSI Sagar Avhad. The Panel Discussion commenced in the presence of our dignitaries, I/C Principal Prof. Kevin Tauro, teachers, staff members and students of Agnel School of Law beginning with the lighting of the lamp. The Government of India to celebrate the National Girl Child Day is an improvement mission for the young girls and also to promote the significance of girls as a child.

One of the panelist Mr. Anson Thomas is a sports personality and currently a social worker saving young girls from the clutches of illegal and immoral trafficking (flesh trade). He shared his personal experience of rescuing girls from the Red Light Areas with the help of the Police Force and the plight of these girls living in such inhumane conditions.

Corporator Netra Shirke shared government policies in saving the girl child and also her experience as a politician to educate the young girls and help them progress through various governmental schemes.

Both the PSI, Mr. Sopan Patil and Sagar Avhad shared their experiences on curbing the violence against women and how the police help women combat domestic violence matters and dowry deaths.

Adv. Krishna Thacker and Adv. Aditya Mokashi threw light on the various laws that protect a woman and how she can be further empowered.

Our I/C Principal Prof. Kevin Tauro also shared his view from an Academic Perspective of how laws have been enhanced to provide relief to women and how girls these days have been excelling in every spheres.

With the volley of questions asked by the students and the replies from the Panelist, this session was not only informative but also opened our eyes to the various injustice that still prevails against women even in this modern era.

The session concluded with the vote of Thanks by The I/C Principal Prof. Kevin Tauro addressing all.